The history of ASH is rich and complex, with a variety of dates dotting its foundation and development.
With this in mind, we celebrate the founding date of ASH in 1953 / 1954, as this was the year that the first building on the Parkweg was aquired and also the year that TASOTIS adpoted its "articles of association". Below you will find a summary of the schools history and location, albiet brief but informative, which was written in 1994 by two staff members for the 40th Anniversary celebrations. Click on Read More to discover the history of ASH.
In 1950, the parents were responsible for providing all the books, worksheets, equipment and teachers manuals
The first teacher’s annual salary in 1950 was fl.3,600 and the following year was raised to fl.3,720.50
The amount of $100 was due for school fees from each student by September 1 and “about sixty gilders per pupil was to be paid the first of each month, September through May to the Treasurer, American School.”
In 1960 ballet, ballroom dancing, mechanical drawing and play reading mini courses were dropped to ease the over crowded schedule
There was a branch of the school in Dordrecht form 1961 until 1969 to serve the children of DuPont employees.
A school was established in Den Helder from 1974 until 1980 primarily to serve the children of Placid Oil.
University preparatory program for ages 3-18. Accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges - Commission on International Education (NEASC-CIE), following the personalized ACE Learning pathway of NEASC-CIE.